Tools & Apps for Etsy: Top 5 Picks

Today’s blog post brought to you by Judith of Judith Johnson Lampwork Beads. Thank you, Judith!

judithI have been selling on Etsy in my current shop on and off for over 3 years, In that time I have found certain tools and apps that automate my business and save me time. The less time I spend on my business the more time I have for making beads which is pretty much what I’m all about.

I am in no way associated with these developers or companies I just like there tools

Without further ado my top 5….

In no particular order…

Betsi

From Blugrin, currently with a 30% discount sign up offer from handmadeology until Friday 19th January.

This is a tool that is very new to me. I still have to dig in and find out how well it performs but from first look it appears to be fantastic. There is a free trial, a paid version and a free version. I am currently running the trial but will probably take advantage of the handmadeology sign up offer and get the paid version. If it works as well as I think it does it will pay for itself very quickly.

Betsi is a bulk editing tool which you download to your desktop, link it up with your Etsy shop and it will import all your Etsy details including shop policies, shipping profiles, descriptions, tags etc. Once imported you can edit away to your hearts content before actually updating the live listing on Etsy. The actual app works seemlessly with your Etsy shop and the Blugrin website has several videos available demonstrating how to use Betsi.

I only had one small problem was not being able to find where to actually download the app. It turns out that you need to download Microsoft Silverlight using the “start trial now” button on the Betsi website and follow it all the way through the install to get to the Betsi subscription screen, where you select which version you want – doh! I got there eventually and after that initial hiccup everything seems to be going swimmingly.

Craftopolis

This is the one I use every day. I log in to it on the website Craftopolis with my Etsy Shop details and Google analytics details

It has three sections
Shop lovers – is split into two windows on the left is a monthly calender which tells you how many visits, shop page views, shop hearts, sales totals and items are expiring for each day. On the right is today’s total of item pageviews, item hearts and item sold price for individual items in your shop
 
Tag Report details which of your tags have been used to find items in your shop within specific time frames. It also tells you what the search type was, search terms and page found on. These can be invaluable tools for working out what is working for you in searches, especially if like me you find Google analytics somewhat confusing.
 
Edit Express enables you to edit prices, titles, descriptions and quantites of multiple listings at the same time from within the Caftopolis window. I have never used this but I keep meaning to, it looks awesome.

Treasury Pin

This one is so simple. Type in the url of a treasury hit enter and Bob’s your uncle a pinnable treasury.

Favoritizer

I love this tool I can organise my favourite shops and items into folders. In my case I have folders for teams, jewelry supplies, fellow lampworkers etc

I also use themed and team folders for collecting favourites for treasuries.

Another site with several tools available.

The Heartomatic – View which items have hearts, who gave them, item views and if you have been fetured on Etsy Front Page or in one of their e-mails.

The Vault an archive of etsy Front Page treasury lists.Widget – Etsy Shop widget to bring a pocket sized interactive version of your Etsy shop into your website or blog. 

Treasury Widget to post treasuries into your blog or website. Choose your size and if you want snapshot static version or dynamic interactive version.

All in all, a set of invaluable Etsy tools.

2 thoughts on “Tools & Apps for Etsy: Top 5 Picks

  1. Hi Judith,

    Thanks for posting BETSI as one of your “Top 5′ picks – we are thrilled and honored.

    BETSI does come in two flavors – BETSI LITE – totally FREE; and BETSI – paid service with a free trial.

  2. Greetings from Carolina! I’m bored at work so I decided to browse your blog on my
    iphone during lunch break. I really like the information you present here and can’t wait to take a look when I get home.
    I’m surprised at how fast your blog loaded on my mobile ..
    I’m not even using WIFI, just 3G .. Anyways, amazing blog!

Leave a Reply

